Township News - South News
The Township of The Archipelago was created in 1980 as a result of the amalgamation of the geographic Townships of Harrison, Shawanaga, Cowper and Conger.  It includes the recreational inland lakes of Healey, Kapikog, Crane, Blackstone and Three Legged in the south and Rock Island, Naiscoot and Wilson Lakes in the north.  The Archipelago incorporates several thousand islands of the 30,000 Islands of Georgian Bay, north and south of Parry Sound, spanning 74 kilometres of the eastern shore of Georgian Bay.  The coastline of Georgian Bay comprises part of the Great Lakes Heritage Coast and has been designated a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve.

The lands and waters that comprise the Archipelago have a rich and interesting history. People were first attracted to the rugged beauty of the area in the early 19th century.  Today, there are just over 4,000 parcels of land in the Township spread throughout a total acreage of roughly 146,000 acres.  Approximately 90 percent of the Township’s residences are seasonal in nature.  The historic communities of Pointe au Baril in the north and Woods Bay in the south Archipelago provide services to area visitors and both full-time and seasonal residents.

The Massasauga and Sturgeon Bay Provincial Parks are located within the Township’s boundaries.  As well, the Province has established a number of Conservation Reserves and two Nature Reserves within the Township’s limits.  Approximately 90% of the land located within the Township is Crown land held by the Province of Ontario.

Residents of the Township and visitors alike continue to be attracted to Georgian Bay and the inland lakes of the Township for their natural beauty and recreational potential.  It is the Township’s goal to preserve the unique and high quality of this natural environment.

Last Updated on Thursday, 26 January 2012 10:27